Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof

Proof of Concept

Base case

Karstadt - later Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof - offers a wide range of items, from toys and housewares to fashion. Frequently changing promotions, naturally, come with this. The aim of the digital signage project is to implement new ads as quickly as possible, saving time and resources. At the same time, the branches are to be digitized to a high degree - both at sensitive customer touchpoints and for the sales staff.

Solution & Implementation

The Karstadt department store chain initially started with a basic version of the InStore Assistant app for its sales staff. The app provides information about article prices, availability and other color variants. Furthermore, it offers the possibility to switch between different customer consultations and create customer cards.

Due to the constant expansion of the InStore Assistant, all processes can also be mapped:

  • Ingoing & outgoing goods
  • Goods relocation and returns processes
  • Inventory adjustments and transfers
  • Price adjustments
  • Label printing in various formats
  • Support for the entire inventory process, including documentation, taking into account internal and external counts (e.g. from inventory service providers)
  • Control of the digital signage devices (e.g. via push-to-screen function and allocations).

The framework conditions for the different processes can be managed flexibly and transactions can be monitored and finally completed after checking via the sovia backstore.

Digital signage also underwent quite the makeover: selected stores are being equipped with digital signage LED and LCD screens; in Berlin, a 4.5 x 2.5m LED wall is on display inside the shop window. An Interactive Fitting Room graces the newly established Experience Store area in Düsseldorf. Several branches are equipped with self-service terminals and digital counter cards. Finally, Bütema AG takes over all digital signage screens in all Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof branches. In this context, a multilingual BAG solution is also used for the digital signposts (Digital Shop Guide), in which the content (such as floor information / signpost icons / advertisements) can be flexibly and quickly adapted in the backstore.

Result

Digital signage screens from counter card to LED wall are installed. Advertising campaigns can be displayed quickly, easily, flexibly and centrally. Self-service terminals and interactive fitting rooms offer customers information points where they can browse the wide range of products of the department store chain. In addition to the simple labeling of goods prices, the staff on the floor and 'behind the scenes' can now map the entire flow of goods up to large-scale annual inventories with the InStore Assistant app.

Featured products

Dates & Facts

Total devices in use: 9,700 (smartphones and Zebra TC57)

Per day ...
... more than 750,000 inventory inquiries take place
... up to 200,000 labels are printed

Per month
... up to 1,200,000 incoming and outgoing SAP IDOCs and XMLs are processed
... more than 7 million mERP transactions are carried out (e.g. inventory / price corrections, parcel collection in goods receipt, returns, inventories...)

Project Overview

In this proof of concept, GALERIA relies on the following solutions from Bütema AG:

InStore Assistant

  • Content management with soviaRetail
  • Quick and centralized content control
  • Multimedia content for more advertising impact
  • Digital advertising displays for product presentations
  • Digital shelf extension via counter cards

InStore Assistant

  • Supporting employees in sales talks
  • For handling the omnichannel processes Click & Collect, Click & Reserve, Return to Retail

Smart Data

  • Merging and synchronization of data from different systems
  • Provision of the current inventory
  • Generating meaningful KPIs
  • Analyzing, preparing and evaluating KPIs

Design & Development

  • Interface to the merchandise management system and online shop
  • Implementierung der Softwaretechnologien in interne Prozesse
  • Data interface to digital end devices and apps

Customer

Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH, based in Essen, is a German department store chain. The two companies GALERIA Kaufhof GmbH and Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH have been working closely together since November 2018. From March 2019 Karstadt and Kaufhof appeared under the common name GALERIA Karstadt Kaufhof.

In January 2020, the two companies were merged into one. When the merger took effect, all rights and obligations of GALERIA Kaufhof GmbH were transferred to Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH, now trading as GALERIA Karstadt Kaufhof GmbH, in accordance with Section 20 UmwG.

Related Topics

Digital Signage und Einlasskontrolle bei BabyOne
Digital Signage bei Adler
Self Service Terminal bei Deichmann
Digital Signage bei Orsay
Verkaufsberatung mit Digital Signage und InStore Assistant bei Schuh Bär
Scroll to Top

Digital Counter Card bei Karstadt

Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof

Proof of Concept

Ausgangssituation

Karstadt – heute Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof – bietet seinen Kunden als Warenhaus ein breites Sortiment an. Von Spielzeug über Haushaltswaren bis zu Fashion reicht die Artikelvielfalt. Damit sind häufig wechselnde Werbeaktionen verbunden. Diese möglichst zeit- und ressourcensparend, gleichzeitig aber schnell umzusetzen, ist Ziel des Digital Signage Projekts. Im gleichen Zug sollen die Filialen digitalisiert werden, um damit sowohl Mitarbeiter, als auch Kunden digital zu unterstützen.

Lösung & Implementierung

Die Warenhauskette Karstadt startet zunächst mit einer Basisversion des InStore Assistants für ihre Verkaufsmitarbeiter. Die App gibt Auskunft über Artikelpreise, Verfügbarkeiten und weitere Farbvarianten. Weiterhin bietet sie die Möglichkeit, zwischen verschiedenen Kundenberatungen zu wechseln und Kundenkarten anzulegen.

Durch den stetigen Ausbau des InStore Assistants können darüber hinaus sämtliche Vorgänge abgebildet werden:

  • Warenein- und ausgang
  • Warenumlagerungs- und Retourenprozesse
  • Bestandskorrekturen und Umbuchungen
  • Preisumzeichnungen
  • Etikettendruck in verschiedensten Formaten
  • Unterstützung der gesamten Inventurdurchführung samt Dokumentation unter Berücksichtigung von internen als auch externen Zählungen (z.B. von Inventurdienstleistern)
  • Steuerung der Digital Signage Geräte (zum Beispiel per Push-to-Screen Funktion und Allocations).

Über den sovia Backstore lassen sich die Rahmenbedingungen für die unterschiedlichen Prozesse flexibel verwalten und Vorgänge überwachen sowie nach Prüfung final abschließen.

Auch im Bereich Digital Signage tut sich einiges: ausgewählte Stores werden mit Digital Signage LED und LCD Screens ausgestattet; in Berlin kommt dabei eine 4,5 x 2,5m große LED Wall im Schaufenster zum Einsatz. In dem neu eingerichteten Experience Store Bereich in Düsseldorf darf ein Interactive Fitting Room nicht fehlen. Mehrere Filialen werden mit Self Service Terminals und Digital Counter Cards ausgestattet. Zuletzt übernimmt die Bütema AG sämtliche Digital Signage Screens in allen Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof Filialen. In diesem Zuge wird auch bei den digitalen Wegweisern (Digital Shop Guide) auf eine mehrsprachige BAG Lösung gesetzt, bei welchen sich die Inhalte (wie z.B. Etageninformationen / Wegweiser Icons / Werbeanzeigen) flexibel und schnell im Backstore anpassen lassen.

Ergebnis

Digital Signage Screens von der Counter Card bis zur LED-Wall werden installiert. Darauf lassen sich schnell, einfach, flexibel und zentral Werbeaktionen abbilden. Self Service Terminals und Interactive Fitting Rooms bieten den Kunden Infopoints, an denen sie im breiten Sortiment der Warenhauskette stöbern können. Neben der einfachen Warenpreisauszeichnung kann das Personal auf der Fläche sowie ‚hinter den Kulissen‘ nun den gesamten Warenfluss bis hin zu großflächig angelegten Jahresinventuren mit dem InStore Assistant abbilden.

Eingesetzte Produkte

Zahlen & Fakten

Insgesamt im Einsatz befindliche Geräte: 9.700 (Smartphones und Zebra TC57)

Pro Tag…
… finden mehr als 750.000 Bestandsanfragen statt
… werden bis zu 200.000 Etiketten ausgedruckt

Pro Monat
… werden bis zu 1.200.000 ein- und ausgehende SAP IDOCs und XMLs verarbeitet
… werden über 7 Mio. mERP Transaktionen durchgeführt (z.B. Bestands- / Preiskorrekturen, Paketvereinnahmungen im Wareneingang, Retouren, Inventuren..)

Projektübersicht

Esprit setzt in diesem Proof of Concept auf folgende Leistungen und Produkte der Bütema AG:

Digital Signage

  • Content-Management mit soviaRetail
  • Schnelle und zentrale Steuerung der Inhalte
  • Multimedialer Content für mehr Werbewirkung
  • Digitale Werbedisplays für Produktpräsentationen
  • Digitale Regalverlängerung in Form von Counter Cards

InStore Assistant

  • Unterstützung der Verkaufsmitarbeitern bei Verkaufsgesprächen
  • Zum Abwickeln der Omnichannelprozesse Click & Collect, Click & Reserve, Return to Retail

Smart Data

  • Zusammenführung und Synchronisation von Daten aus verschiedenen Systemen
  • Bereitstellung des aktuellen Warenbestandes
  • Generieren aussagekräftiger KPIs
  • Analysieren, aufbereiten und auswerten von KPIs

Design & Development

  • Schnittstelle zum Warenwirtschaftssystem und Onlineshop
  • Implementierung der Softwaretechnologien in interne Prozesse
  • Datenschnittstelle zu verwendeten digitalen Endgeräte und Apps

Kundenbeschreibung

Die Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH, mit Sitz in Essen, ist eine deutsche Warenhauskette. Seit November 2018 arbeiteten die beiden Unternehmen GALERIA Kaufhof GmbH und Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH eng zusammen. Ab März 2019 traten Karstadt und Kaufhof unter dem gemeinsamen Namen GALERIA Karstadt Kaufhof auf.

Im Januar 2020 wurden die beiden Unternehmen zu einem Unternehmen verschmolzen. Mit Wirksamwerden der Verschmelzung gingen gemäß § 20 UmwG alle Rechte und Pflichten der GALERIA Kaufhof GmbH auf die Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH, nun firmierend als GALERIA Karstadt Kaufhof GmbH, über.

Verwandte Themen

Digital Signage und Einlasskontrolle bei BabyOne
Digital Signage bei Adler
Self Service Terminal bei Deichmann
Digital Signage bei Orsay
Verkaufsberatung mit Digital Signage und InStore Assistant bei Schuh Bär
Nach oben